User Tools

Site Tools


tools-gisdev

Geography and Remote Sensing is one of the most openly contributing scientific discipline among others. Several data sets, tools and archives are accessible to public with proper licensing. Free Software tools like QGIS, GRASS, OSMAnd etc.. have continuously proved their best service to the field than any other proprietary solutions. Most budding business and establishing enterprises and research institutions prefer FOSS tools than competing proprietary solutions. Moreover, increasingly many community contributed modules, algorithms and tools are being constantly developed meeting the public and scientific necessity, which are not yet been tried out in the proprietary domain.

Increasingly location data has become industrial fuel/gold in the current information economy. Many location tracking service are expected by default. Several available data are becoming more and more location augmented. There is a increasing need to critically use and analyze the location data, that is directly connected to the private, social, political and economic inferences.

- Tools for measurement, design, testing, deploying, communicating and sharing are essential and more vital when it comes to GIS. For any application or domain that - likely to use Geo-Information has to use the required tool that keep the systems integrated together. The following will the updatable table which has to be - FOSS based - as a catalogue of tools available designed with open standards and philosophy in mind.

GIS + RS + Statistics : [Geomatics / Surveying / Mapping / Cartography / Remote Sensing / Transit]

No. Name Type Based on Purpose Link License
1. GDAL,OGR,GEOS Platform - GIS Base for GIS
2. GRASS GIS GIS Desktop Tool
3. QGIS GIS GIS Desktop Tool
4. SAGA GIS GIS Desktop Tool
5. TauDEM GIS GIS Desktop Tool
6. Udig GIS GIS Desktop Tool
7. gvSIG GIS GIS Desktop Tool
8. OpenJump GIS GIS Desktop Tool
9. Orfeo Toolbox Sat, Image Processing Sat. Image Processing
10. GeoDa, GeoDaspace Geo Spatial Explore Data Exploration
11. STEP Science Toolbox Exploitation Platform Data Sourcing Toolbox
12. RSToolbox RS Remote sensing for R
13. Pyramid Shader GIS GIS Desktop Tool
14. Terrain Equalizer GIS GIS Desktop Tool
15. Terrain Bender GIS GIS Desktop Tool
16. Scree Painter GIS GIS Desktop Tool
17. Tangible Landscape GIS Terrain Modeling & Interaction
18. WhiteBox GAT Geospatial Analysis GIS Desktop Tool
19. JOSM GIS - Collaborate Collabore, Contribute
20. Maputnik GIS - Carto design react, js Design Tool
21. Mapnik GIS - Web Web GIS
22. uMap GIS - Web Web GIS
23. Tilemill/Tileoven GIS - Web Web GIS
24. GeoServer GIS - Web Web GIS
25. GeoNode GIS - Web Web GIS
26. OpenLayers GIS - Web Web GIS
27. Leaflet GIS - Web Web GIS
28. Turf GIS - Web Web GIS
29. GeoJS GIS - Web Web GIS
30. Tippecanoe GIS - Tile generator GIS-CLI
31. Rasterio GIS - Raster GIS-CLI
32. Tileserver GIS - Local Serve Web GIS
33. Mapserver GIS - WMS/WFS C Web GIS
34. Cesium GIS - 3D Web GIS
35. OSM-P2P GIS - P2P P2P GIS
36. OpenForis Collect Data Collection (Files)
37. OpenForis Collect Mobile Data Collection (Mobile)
38. OpenForis Collect Earth Data Collection (Sats.)
39. OpenForis Calc Data Analysis
40. OpenForis Geospatial Toolkit
41. PostGIS GIS - DB Storage GIS (DBMS)
42. SpatialLite GIS - DB Storage GIS (DBMS)
43. GeoJSON,TopoJSON GIS - DataType Serializing GIS data
44. TransitWand GIS - Transit Preprocessing GTFS
45. Transitfeed GIS - Transit GTFS feed Validataion
46. GTFS - Editor GIS - Transit GTFS Editor
47. OpenTripPlanner GIS - Transit Trip plan & mgmt
48. Analyst server GIS - Transit Transit analysis
49. GTFS - rt admin GIS - Transit GTFS RT admin
50. Node-GTFS GIS - Transit Node based GTFS tool
51. GTFSdb GIS - Transit GTFS database
52. GTFS to HTML GIS - Transit Time table generation
53. Traffic-Engine GIS - Transit Traffic statistics
54. GO Sync GTFS - OSM Sync
55. GPX Filter GPX Visualization
56. GPX Map Matcher GPX Visualization
57. ulogger Server Location Tracking
58. TracCar Location Tracking
59. OwnTracks Location Tracking
60. Geomesa GIS - Large Scale Querying & Analytics
61. GeoWave GIS - Large Scale Querying & Analytics
62. POSM Portable OSM Self Reliant, Offline
63. TIN Terrain Height to meshes Offline tin-terrain MIT
64. PeerMaps P2P Mapping Peer Map N/W Peer-Maps
65. Ginkgoch Full stack GIS solution JS Full stack GIS Ginkgoch
66. Python Folium Python, Leaflet Combo Python, JS Python + Leaflet Python Folium, Git MIT
67. ColorOracle Color for Maps Java Map Coloring ColorOracle MIT
68. ColorBrew Color for Maps JS Map Coloring ColorBrew Apache 2.0
69. Ridership GIS - Transit Python, JS Transit, Ridership Ridership, Git MIT
70. Unfolding GIS - Visualization Java Visualization Unfolding, Git Apache like
71. Shifted Maps GIS - InterVisualization JS Visualization Shifted Maps, Git GPL 3.0
72. GeoExt3 GIS - Application building JS App. building GeoExt3, Git GPL 3.0

For a more exhaustive list : Awesome geo collection


Learning

When it comes to learning Geographical Systems, no one document or single Wiki could encompass the historical and scientific knowledge in the discipline. However, with many more critical individuals, researchers, hackers, scientific communities and groups have gathered, reviewed the collected contents present throughout internet. Learning Geography or GIS or any allied field of interest through strict academic career is not the only way (must not be the only way) to acquire such great knowledge and contribute back. With that sense, i have tried to collate possible locations of web pages, sites, wikis, tutorials, etc… and encourage who is willing to collage can do the same.

All these disseminated knowledge in internet is the proof of power of commons. It illustrates the desire of anyone who is interested in its science to make it more transparent, open and propagatable to the commons.

Tools today like GRASS, QGIS, … are powerful enough to ease the task creation, for a analyst, cartographer, geologist, hydrologist, etc… They can simply think in terms of system level block diagrams or flow diagram to complete a particular process. That can be directly programmed using current tools listed above.

Community Wikis

Name About Links
GIS Wiki General GIS http://wiki.gis.com/wiki/index.php/Main_Page
Landscape Toolbox Wiki Field & Remote Sensing http://wiki.landscapetoolbox.org/doku.php/Home
Transit Wiki Transit/Transport http://www.transitwiki.org/
TDM Transport Demand & Mgmt http://www.vtpi.org/tdm/tdm12.htm
Grass Wiki GIS Tech. Methods https://grasswiki.osgeo.org/wiki/GRASS-Wiki

Individual Researcher/Expert Portals/Blogs

About Name Links
Visualization Bernie Jenny http://berniejenny.info/
QGIS Tutorials Ujaval Gandhi http://www.qgistutorials.com/en/
GIS to Remote Sensing Luca Congedo https://fromgistors.blogspot.com/
Karto Pics Daniel Coe https://kartopics.com/
Cartography Workshop Planemad https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User:Planemad/Basic_cartography_workshop
Satellite Workshop Planemad https://github.com/mapbox/workshops/tree/gh-pages/satellite-workshop
Planemad Diary Planemad http://www.openstreetmap.org/user/PlaneMad/diary/
One Metro World Jugcerovic http://www.jugcerovic.com/maps/one-metro-world/
Human Transit Jarret Walker http://humantransit.org/
Finding Graticule xkcd wiki http://wiki.xkcd.com/geohashing/Finding_your_graticule
Lets make a Map Mike Bostock https://bost.ocks.org/mike/map/
RStoolbox for R Benjamin Leutner https://bleutner.github.io/RStoolbox/about.html
Maps,tools Townsendjennings http://www.townsendjennings.com/maps/
Add isochrones Peter Liu https://blog.mapbox.com/add-isochrones-to-your-next-application-e9e84a62345f
Denise Lu Denise Lu https://www.washingtonpost.com/people/denise-lu/?utm_term=.5d0463028b10
Derek Watkins Derek Watkins https://www.dwtkns.com/
AC Geospatial Andrew Cutts http://www.acgeospatial.co.uk/
Nicolas Brodu Nicolas Brodu http://nicolas.brodu.net/en/
Info. Design & Mgmt. Movable Type https://www.movable-type.co.uk/scripts/latlong.html
Free & Open Source GIS Ramblings Anita Graser https://anitagraser.com
Geospatial brainstorming Mike Miller http://millermountain.com/geospatialblog/gis-courses/
Urban Planning and Spatial Analysis Geoff Boeing https://geoffboeing.com/
Visual Analytics, Spatio - Temporal Till Nagel https://services.informatik.hs-mannheim.de/~nagel/
SupraGeography Oobrien https://oobrien.com/

Community Websites

Institutes

Name Links
UNAVCO https://www.unavco.org/education/education.html
ISPRS http://www.isprs.org/default.aspx
SIRI http://user47094.vs.easily.co.uk/siri/
WMO http://www.wmo.int/pages/prog/www/IMOP/Knowledge-sharing_Portal.html
Oregon State Univ. http://cartography.oregonstate.edu/
Penn State Univ.(PSU) http://www.geog.psu.edu/research/giscience/online-geospatial-education-penn-state
PSU E-Education https://www.e-education.psu.edu/geog585/
Online GIS course https://gis.e-education.psu.edu/
Centre for Geospatial Analysis https://cnr.ncsu.edu/geospatial/
GeoForAll Lab https://geospatial.ncsu.edu/osgeorel/
GeoForAll Lab Repo https://github.com/ncsu-geoforall-lab/
PSU + FreeTamilebooks https://ia801508.us.archive.org/1/items/open_web_mapping/open_web_mapping.pdf
OpenForis http://www.openforis.org
Wshington state Dept. of Natural Resources(WDNR) https://www.dnr.wa.gov/
NPTEL https://nptel.ac.in/courses/105107122/
DST-IGET http://dst-iget.in/about-us
Carleton University http://gracilis.carleton.ca/CUOSGwiki/
IHE Delft https://ocw.un-ihe.org/
Institue of Geography https://www.geog.uni-heidelberg.de/index_en.html
Heidelberg Institue for Geoinformation & Technology https://heigit.org/big-spatial-data-analytics-en/ohsome/
Richmond Edu, Digital Scholarship Lab https://dsl.richmond.edu/
Virginia Edu, Scholars Lab https://scholarslab.lib.virginia.edu/
Geo University https://www.geo.university/
Urban Complexity Lab https://uclab.fh-potsdam.de/
Institute of Transport & Development Policies https://itdp.org
UC GIS, Body of Knowledge https://gistbok.ucgis.org/

Repositories & Standards

Media Websites

Name Media Links
GIS Geography GIS Geography http://gisgeography.com
Digital Geography Digital Geography http://www.digital-geography.com/
Geoawesomeness Geoawesomeness https://geoawesomeness.com/
Mobility Lab Mobility Lab https://mobilitylab.org/tech/
All over the Map National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com/people-and-culture/all-over-the-map/
Bare Earth WDNR, Arcgis WDNR Bare earth
Mapping the Reality Medium - Mental map & GIS Mapping the reality
Accessibility - 1 Medium - Tools for analyzing employment accessibility Employment accessibility analysis tools
Accessibility - 2 Medium - Building Transportation Scenarios, accessibility analysis Transportation Analysis

Open Data Sources for GIS

Name Purpose Links
Natural Earth Physical, Cultural Shapefiles http://www.naturalearthdata.com/
SRTM Terrain Data https://dds.cr.usgs.gov/srtm/version2_1/SRTM3/
AWS AWS public dataset https://aws.amazon.com/public-datasets/
USGS USGS Earth Explorer http://earthexplorer.usgs.gov/
Sentinel Scientific Data Hub https://scihub.copernicus.eu/dhus
NOAA NOAA CLASS http://www.class.noaa.gov/
NOAA NOAA Aeril Photo Ordering http://www.ngs.noaa.gov/web/APOS2/APOS.shtml
NOAA NOAA Data Access Viewer https://coast.noaa.gov/dataviewer/#
NOAA NOAA Digital Coast https://coast.noaa.gov/digitalcoast/
NASA NASA Reverb http://reverb.echo.nasa.gov/reverb
EOLi Earth Observation Link https://earth.esa.int/web/guest/eoli
NISE National Ins. Space Research http://www.dgi.inpe.br/CDSR/
ISRO Bhuvan http://bhuvan.nrsc.gov.in/data/download/index.php
JAXA ALOS http://www.eorc.jaxa.jp/ALOS/en/aw3d30/
VITO Coarse Vegetation Data http://www.vito-eodata.be/PDF/portal/Application.html#Home
Landcover Global Landcover http://landcover.org/
UNAVCO UNAVCO Research Data http://www.unavco.org/
FAO Socio-Economic Data http://www.fao.org/geonetwork/srv/en/main.home
SEDAC Socio-Economic Data http://sedac.ciesin.columbia.edu/
MIT GeoWeb MIT GIS data access http://web.mit.edu/geoweb/
STEP STEP - ESA http://step.esa.int/main/
PCL Collection University of Texas Library https://legacy.lib.utexas.edu/maps/
TauDEM Test Data https://github.com/dtarb/TauDEM-Test-Data
HydroSHEDS Hydrological data and maps based on SHuttle Elevation Derivatives at multiple Scales http://www.hydrosheds.org/
USGS Data & Tool analyze meaning in the scientific, engineering, context https://www.usgs.gov/products/data-and-tools/overview
Global Islands Explorer Global Shoreline Vector, Global Ecological coastal units https://rmgsc.cr.usgs.gov/gie/
tools-gisdev.txt · Last modified: 16/06/2020 07:34 by ganesh